Nominate Outstanding Communicators for 2012 PRoof Awards

WMPRSA's PRoof Awards aren't just for campaigns - they're also awarded to exemplary individuals inside (and outside) the profession in five categories (below). To nominate someone for one of these awards, visit this site. Public Relations Professional of the Year

WMPRSA’s Public Relations PRofessional of the Year Award honors the WMPRSA member who represented the best in public relations in 2011. As you prepare your PRoof Award entry and identify its strengths, consider nominating the WMPRSA member whose contributions to the program—or to the profession stand out as outstanding example of the relationship between an organization and the publics it represents.

Communicator of the Year

WMPRSA recognizes a community leader for outstanding contributions to West Michigan and who also exemplifies the practice of good public relations. The WMPRSA Communicator of the Year Award is distinct from all other awards because it is given to a person who is NOT a PRSA member or PR professional, but has shown him or herself to be an accomplished communicator, has communicated well during a crisis, or was an exemplary spokesperson for their organization. Please indicate the context of the nominee’s most significant contribution in 2011 in the narrative.

Media Person of the Year

The Media Person of the Year Award is given to a deserving journalist (print, broadcast, Internet) for outstanding contributions to the field of journalism in the West Michigan area. As you prepare your PRoof Awards, consider the media you worked with throughout your campaign. WMPRSA will recognize that media person during the annual WMPRSA PRoof Awards Gala. Please illustrate the nominee’s accomplishments and most significant contributions to the field of journalism during 2011.

Newcomer of the Year

Only new members in good standing of the West Michigan Chapter of PRSA (having joined during 2011 or 2011) are eligible for this award. The winner must be an active public relations professional of three years or less who has demonstrated potential for becoming an outstanding public relations professional. Please support with examples of the nominee’s experience and efforts during 2011.

Public Relations Student of the Year

WMPRSA’s public Relations Student of the Year Award (also awarded during the April 25 PRoof Awards Celebration) honors the individual PRSSA member who represented the best in public relations during 2011. Consider nominating the intern in your office, the student you’re mentoring or that person whose contributions to advancing the PR profession on campus stand out as exemplary.

Ferris State University Receives National Certification from PRSA

The Public Relations Program at Ferris State University recently became one of only 23 programs in the nation to receive Certification in Education for Public Relations (CEPR) at the international Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) conference in Washington D.C. Ferris State PR Program Certified

The CEPR process is extensive and rigorous, including an in-depth application, two-day site visit from national, accredited PR professionals, followed by multiple approval stages at the national level. Achieving certification requires meeting nine specific criteria of excellence in areas such as curriculum, assessment, faculty, facilities, and diversity.

Professor (and WMPRSA Board Member) Dr. Patrick Bishop was the champion throughout the certification process and described the process in a press release published by the university:

"The certification process took more than a year to complete. The site team was very enthusiastic about our program and became some of our strongest advocates for gaining certification.  [...] One of the primary distinctions of the Ferris program is the fact that it’s based in a college of business. We are one of the only programs in the nation to offer an undergraduate public relations degree in business.”

For information about the curriculum or enrollment, visit or contact Dr. Patrick Bishop at